Contents

Discover 2000 Years of Roman History on a Castel Sant'Angelo Tour

Castel Sant AngeloGuided Tours



Book Castel Sant'Angelo Guided Tour Options

Castel Sant'Angelo Special Access Guided Tour
Free Cancellation
Instant Confirmation
Mobile Ticket
2 hr.
Guided Tour
More details
Express Guided Tour of Castel Sant’Angelo
Free Cancellation
Instant Confirmation
Mobile Ticket
1 hr.
Guided Tour
More details
Big Bus: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour
Free Cancellation
Extended Validity
Instant Confirmation
Mobile Ticket
Flexible Duration
More details
from
€27.54
Roma Pass & Omnia Card: Hop-on Hop-off Tour of Rome & Discounts
Extended Validity
Instant Confirmation
Mobile Ticket
Flexible Duration
More details
The Official Angels & Demons Tour
Free Cancellation
Instant Confirmation
Mobile Ticket
4 hr. 15 min.
Guided Tour
More details
Combo (Save 5%): Vatican Museums & Sistine Chapel + Castel Sant'Angelo Priority Access Tickets
Mobile Ticket
Flexible Duration
More details
from
€52.16
Combo: Borghese Gallery + Castel St Angelo Tickets
Mobile Ticket
Flexible Duration
More details
from
€49.90

Which Castel Sant'Angelo tour is best for you?

Express tour

Duration: 1 hour
Suited for: Time-limited yet insightful exploration.
Ticket price: €37
Why go for it?

  • This tour offers a swift and informative journey into the heart of Castel Sant'Angelo.
  • With skip-the-line access, you'll efficiently discover the fascinating history, admire preserved art, and unravel the secrets of this multifaceted fortress—all in just one hour. Ideal for those seeking a quick but enriching visit.
    Recommended tours:
    Express Guided Tour of Castel Sant’Angelo.

Skip-the-line tour

Duration: 2 hours
Suited for: Priority access and insightful visit.
Ticket price: €55
Why go for it?

  • Avoid the hassle of long queues and delve deeper into Castel Sant'Angelo's mysteries. With skip-the-line access, a small group setting, and unique views from the terrace, this tour offers an immersive experience.
  • Uncover hidden chambers, historical prisons, and splendid sculptures, making it perfect for enthusiasts seeking an in-depth exploration.
    Recommended tours:
    Special Access Guided Tour of Castel Sant'Angelo.

Themed tour

Duration: 4 hours 15 minutes
Suited for: Fans of Dan Brown's "Angels and Demons"
Ticket price: €64
Why go for it?

  • Step into the captivating world of Robert Langdon with this unique tour inspired by the bestselling novel. Traverse the sites immortalized in "Angels and Demons," decode mysterious puzzles, and explore the connection between the novel and Rome's iconic landmarks.
  • Ideal for those intrigued by mystery, symbolism, and the allure of Dan Brown's storytelling.
    Recommended tours:
    The Official Angels & Demons Tour

Why take a Castel Sant'Angelo guided tour?

Castel Sant’Angelo is one of the oldest and most iconic tourist attractions in Rome, Italy. Here are a few reasons why you should take a Castel Sant'Angelo tour.

Castel Sant'Angelo tours
  • Expert insights: Guided tours are a great way to learn about the history of the attraction and other interesting information from an expert tour guide.
  • Priority access: Your Castel Sant’Angelo tours include a skip the line feature to allow you to skim past long entry lines.
  • Efficient exploration: The site is quite vast and complex to navigate all by yourself, which is why booking a Castel Sant’Angelo tour is the recommended option because it is the best way to explore the place efficiently.
  • Personalized experience: Some tours cater to specific interests, allowing you to choose themes like art, architecture, or historical periods, tailoring the experience to your preferences.

What to expect on a Castel Sant'Angelo tour?

A Castel Sant’Angelo tour is the perfect way to visit such a complex and iconic historical attraction, especially if it’s your first time. To help you explore the iconic museum more efficiently, we recommend opting for a guided tour because it includes a tour guide who knows everything about the place. With a long history of over 2000 years, there is much to know about this ancient site. 

Once you meet your tour guide, you will be taken inside the mausoleum and shown all the important sites like the Papal Apartments, Hadrian’s Tomb, Ponte Sant’Angelo, Passetto di Borgo, the terrace, and the stunning works of art that adorn the museum. There is so much to explore inside Castel Sant’Angelo and a guided tour is the best way to do so.

Visitor tips

  • The first important tip is to book your tickets early on.
  • Wear footwear with a firm grip because you will have to walk a lot inside the museum.
  • Read up about Castel Sant’Angelo if you’re not taking a guided tour.
  • The best time to visit the museum is in the early hours when the attraction opens or late in the day before closing time.
  • Certain sections of the castle are not wheelchair friendly or suited for those with reduced mobility.
  • You will need at least 2 hours to tour the mausoleum. Make sure you plan accordingly.
  • Luggage or large bags are not allowed inside the castle.
  • There is no parking facility at the castle.
  • Avoid visiting on the first Sunday of every month. The castle gets very crowded as entry is free for all.
  • Elevator is available upon request.
  • The museum also houses a cafeteria in case you wish to grab a meal post a tiring tour.

Frequently asked questions about Castel Sant'Angelo tours

Can I book a Castel Sant’Angelo tour?

Yes. The Castel Sant’Angelo tours are available for booking.

How do I book a Castel Sant’Angelo tour?

You can book a Castel Sant’Angelo tour online.

How much does a Castel Sant’Angelo tour cost?

Castel Sant’Angelo tours are priced at €36.57 and upwards.

What are the different types of Castel Sant’Angelo tours?

There are two types of Castel Sant’Angelo tours available – Castel Sant’Angelo: Angels and Demons Experience and Combo (Save 5%): Borghese Gallery +Castel Sant’Angelo Tickets.

What is included in Castel Sant’Angelo tours?

The Castel Sant Angelo tours include access to all sections that are open to the public like the Papal Apartments, Hadrian’s Tomb, Ponte Sant’Angelo, Passetto di Borgo, and the Terrace. Visitors also get to admire the incredible artworks on display.

In what languages are the Castel Sant’Angelo guided tours available?

The Castel Sant Angelo guided tours are available in five languages – English, French, Italian, German, and Spanish.

What does the Castel Sant’Angelo guided tour cover?

A. The Castel Sant'Angelo guided tour covers all the major points of interest inside the Castel Sant Angelo including the Papal Apartments, Hadrian’s Tomb, Ponte Sant’Angelo, Passetto di Borgo, and the Terrace, and more.

How many people can go on a Castel Sant’Angelo tour?

It depends on the type of Castel Sant’Angelo tour you book. The small group guided tour will have no more than 10 people while the other guided tours have a maximum capacity of 25 guests.

Is the Castel Sant’Angelo tour worth it?

Yes. The Castel Sant Angelo tours are worth it because it’s the best way to explore this spectacular and popular heritage site and learn all about its history and the artworks on display. The mausoleum-turned-museum is almost 2000 years old and deeply rooted in history.

Do the Castel Sant’Angelo tours include skip the line access?

Yes. The Castel Sant Angelo tours include skip the line access.

Can I cancel a booked Castel Sant Angelo tour?

Yes. It depends on the Castel Sant’Angelo tour you book. Please check the cancellation policy before booking.

How long is the Castel Sant Angelo guided tour?

The Castel Sant’Angelo guided tours can be anywhere between 2 to 5 hours long, based on the tour you choose.

Are there any discounted tickets for Castel Sant Angelo tours?

Yes. Children aged 17 and under enjoy reduced ticket rates on Castel Sant’Angelo tour tickets: the Angels & Demons Experience. Other guests can enjoy up to 5% off on their tickets.